The Coffee Table with Jackie Shuman

Oh hi there! Happy Thursday! This week we bring you a Los Angeles born, Brooklyn-living lady who is sure to have you skipping to the beat of a new tune. Drumroll please for music supervisor:
coffee stain

Currently Brewing

I’m still reeling from all the incredible shows I saw during CMJ in October – Mac DeMarco, Slam Donahue, Team Spirit and Foxygen blew my mind…but I also came across some emerging artists I hadn’t heard before.  I get such a thrill out of incorporating undiscovered bands into my work and introducing people to their new favorite songs.

My next project is coordinating music for a short film from the very talented New York photographer Julian Ungano.  Julian has spent the past few years creating incredible video art in the fashion world for everyone from Narcisco Rodriguez to Esquire Magazine and I cannot wait to work on his first narrative film.

                                                        Favorite Drink

There’s a Blue Bottle Coffee a few blocks from my apartment in Williamsburg and I basically give them all my money.  Their “New Orleans” cold-brewed iced coffee is made with chicory root, simple syrup and whole milk…and it’s nothing short of incredible.  It supposedly takes an entire day for them to make, and I believe it.

                                                     It’s the Little Things

  • Clean white sheets, fresh from the dryer. I seriously value my sleep.
  •  My best friend, Stephanie. I only get to see her a few times a year since I moved to the East coast and every time we talk it lights up my life.
  • Those first few times you hear a song and realize it’s going to be your newest obsession, and then the following few weeks when it’s all you listen to.

My Coffee Table

Coffee Table old trunk

My “coffee table” is an old trunk I found on the street in my neighborhood one day last year.  I saw it sitting outside a house, tried lifting it and decided it was coming home with me.

billboard magazine

Sitting on the table right now: my glasses, a collar necklace I just bought from Jewelmint that I’ve been wearing with every outfit regardless of whether or not it makes sense to do so.  There’s also an old issue of Billboard, a gorgeous typewritten letter my friend Hannah sent me, today’s “to-do” list, some paint swatches for a wall I’m decorating, and perhaps my proudest purchase of the summer: a $1 CD of Fleetwood Mac covers by everyone from The Cranberries to Elton John.

 Words of Wisdom

“Far better it is to dare mighty things, to win glorious triumphs, even though checkered by failure, than to take rank with those poor spirits who neither enjoy much nor suffer much, because they live in the gray twilight that knows no victory or defeat.”-Theodore Roosevelt

Follow Jackie on Twitter and Instagram

(posted with love by Kathryn)

4 thoughts on “The Coffee Table with Jackie Shuman

  1. Pingback: Blue Bottle Coffee’s New Orleans Style Iced Coffee | your favorite blend

  2. Pingback: A V-Day Playlist That Doesn't Suck

  3. Pingback: The Coffee Table with Sophie Jaffe | your favorite blend

Leave a Reply

