The Coffee Table with Marissa Maharaj

Welcome to The Coffee Table interview series! Have a seat, grab a drink, and meet Los Angeles based musician & lifestyle/wedding photographer:

Marissa Maharaj

Currently Brewing

 I’m currently working on a second album and I’m really excited for the challenge and growth that round two will bring! Last year I released my first EP, Letters, which was something I’d been working on for a while and finally worked up the courage to orchestrate. I had the privilege of teaming up with a few companies like ModCloth and Element, who used some of my songs for their videos and promos; I was blown away by the kind support of the incredible artist community in Seattle (where I was living at the time).

Favorite Drink

I’m all about the brewed coffee. Having lived in Seattle for over four years, you’d think I’d be a bit picky about my coffee, but given a blind taste test I’d probably choose diner coffee every time. No cream, no sugar, just give me a jug and I’ll be on my way.

It’s the Little Things

  • Snail mail. Which I never get, except from Bank of America, and those guys hardly ever write in cursive.
  • Taco Trucks. You can find them everywhere in LA. They’re pretty much like Santa on wheels, if Santa hung out in the Vons parking lot after 9pm and mastered the art of the perfect mulita.
  • When I do laundry and all my clothes don’t come out pink. (Happens more than I care to say.)

My Coffee Table

Succulents. We love succulents in this house! This does not mean that we can keep them alive. Do not be mislead.

Coffee Table

Magazines. My roomie Emma works with Kinfolk on occasion, and I love pouring over the pages as soon as we get a new issue.

Instax & Old Photos. Some instax from my trip to Paris this summer and old photos I found at the Long Beach Flea Market.

The table: My roommate Emma and I were out brunching when we ran into Casa Victoria, a tiny little furniture shop where we found the leather couch of our dreams. The owner, Robert, graciously offered to move it to our apartment, and when he arrived he had a coffee table for us as well! (He probably did some guess work and figured we were newbies who still ate on the floor.) We didn’t end up buying an actual dining table for another few months, so that coffee table hosted meals, office work, and actually one smallish dinner party. Needless to say, we wrote Casa Victoria a sizeable review on Yelp.

Words of Wisdom

My mother has more wisdom than anyone I’ve ever met- everything she
says could go on a tea bag. One of my favorites (besides “it can be fixed with a snack”) is:

two hours at a time

I can get overwhelmed in the midst of running my photography business, traveling, freelancing, and dreaming up new projects, and my mothers wise words always come back to me: “Two hours at a time- take life two hours at a time. Don’t focus on what you have to do this year, this week, or even for the rest of the day-just focus on the next two hours”. I don’t know if that would fit on a tea bag, but someone should certainly try.

Follow Marissa, visit her blog, like her page

Thanks for joining us!

(posted with love by Kathryn)

Leave a Reply

