The Coffee Table with Jessi Williams

I need an extra boost of inspiration and some quick reading time on how people live their creative lives. That’s why I’m thinking of getting an extra shot of The Coffee Table in my weekly mug of a blog. Enough thinking…let’s get doing!
Originally from Batesville, IN and currently living in Los Angeles, CA, this lady has a lot on her plate including music and motherhood…all while keeping a great sense of humor:
stock-photo-56976-coffee-stain copy 11

the lonely wild

Currently Brewing 

Projects with my band, The Lonely Wild. Making music with these dudes makes me happier than anything in the world. We have an album coming out this spring along with a music video and tour. That keeps me pretty busy. There are always new songs and I play several instruments in the band, so I have to keep polished on all of them. Recently I’ve been pretty determined to add banjo to that list. We’ll be playing The Echo February 8th – ahem #plug. We’d love for any and many to join us for the show!

Favorite Drink

I can totally get down with a plain ole cup a’joe. I’m talking driving-down-Hwy 50-middle-of-nowhere-diner-coffee, with tons of cream and sugar of course.

It’s the Little Things

  • When something I say makes someone laugh, particularly my daughter or my mom. Just laughter in general. What could be better?
  • I love cat noses and how they do that thing where they just keep bumping their nose up against you.
  • Anytime I put ‘Decade’ on the turntable I am feelin’ fine.

My Coffee Table

First I have to admit: This is a clean version of my coffee table. I thought I’d spare you the usual “last night’s dinner” plates, whatever project my daughter, Lily, has strewn about (usually something sticky), or receipts, purchase orders and other remnants of whatever job I’m finishing up (I moonlight as a music video/commercial Production Manager).

The coffee table itself is special to me. When I was born, both of my parents worked at Rom-Weber Furniture in Indiana. My dad built this table the year I was born and it lived in his garage for a long time. When I moved to Nashville we refinished it together. I believe I was 23, which is the same age he was when he built it. What you see here are the things that live on the table on a more permanent basis:

jessi williams

My computer, my guitar capo (I have separation anxiety if it’s not in my sight at all times), some guitar picks (can also be found in my purse, car, couch, pocket of every pair of pants I own, and various laundromat dryers around town), my songbook, my favorite brand of pen (Staples Revu), coasters (I respect wood) and a glass of water in a ball jar (all my glasses are mason ball jars.) Oh, there are also some pieces of pine needles and a pine cone courtesy of Lily. She’s always collecting rocks and sticks and leaving them around the house. She may have been a squirrel in a past life.

Words of Wisdom

There are so many Tom Robbins quotes that I love. It’s hard to pick just one. Just go read his books! Anytime I start taking myself too seriously and I need a slap in the face, I know I can depend on one of his classics.

“There are two kinds of people in this world: Those who believe there are two kinds of people in this world and those who are smart enough to know better.”

At one point I was really terrified of airplanes. Then I realized that if I was going to let fear keep me from experiencing things in life, then I might as well go down with that plane. There really aren’t enough hours in the day to accomplish all the things I want to do. I try my hardest to use my time to the fullest and not let fear hold me back. Or as Tom would say: “To live fully, one must be free, but to be free one must give up security. Therefore, to live one must be ready to die. How’s that for a paradox?”

The Lonely Wild

find The Lonely Wild on facebook, twitter, and get some free songs!

(posted with love by Kathryn)

2 thoughts on “The Coffee Table with Jessi Williams

  1. Hello! This is the fourth time visiting now and I just wanted to
    say I truley enjoy looking at your blog website. I’ve decided to bookmark it at digg.com with the title: The Coffee Table with Jessi Williams | your favorite blend and your URL: https://yourfavoriteblend.wordpress.com/2013/01/22/the-coffee-table-with-jessi-williams/. I hope this is ok with you, I’m attempting to give your excellent blog a bit more publicity.
    Be back shortly.

  2. Oh my goodness! Impressive article dude! Thank you so much,
    However I am having difficulties with your RSS.
    I don’t know the reason why I can’t subscribe to it.
    Is there anybody getting the same RSS problems? Anyone who knows the answer will
    you kindly respond? Thanx!!

Leave a Reply

